NCLA Logo and link to NCLA Home  

Return to NCLA Home Page
NCLA Executive Board
NCLA Minutes
NCLA Divisions
NCLA Committees
 Professional Resources
Awards and Scholarships
Calendar of Events

NCLA Young Adult Services Division
Board Members | Calendar of Dates | Constitution | B.E.S.T. Award
Blog |
YASD on Facebook | YASD Programming Award

Nominate a teen for the YA B.E.S.T. Award

The NCLA Young Adult Services Division was created to:
  • Unite in one division all those who are interested in any phase of library service to young adults
• Give those having responsibility for services to young adults an opportunity to exchange information, develop techniques and improve their professional endeavors
• Advocate for the rights of young adults to quality library service
If you are interested in joining the Young Adult Services Division,
please contact the Membership Chair or the Division President

2014 NCLA Young Adult Services Division
Board & Committee Chairs


Nancy Evans
Levittown Public Library
(516) 731-5728


Peter Cirona
Massapequa Public Library
(516) 799-0770 x305

Vice President/
President Elect
Michelle Samuel
Freeport Memorial Library
(516) 379-3274
Membership Barbara Mickowski
Oceanside Public Library
(516) 766-2360
Secretary Sharon Long
Syosset Public Library
(516) 921-7161 x242
Nominating Joan Galante
Levittown Public Library
(516) 731-5728

Rhonda Todtman
Peninsula Public Library
(516) 239-3262

NLS Liaison Renee McGrath
Nassau Library System
(516) 292-8920 x230
Immediate Past-President Courtney Greenblatt
Great Neck Public Library
(516) 466-8055
Professional Development

Natalie Korsavidis
Farmingdale Public Library
(516) 249-9090 x 21

Ilona Sayan
East Meadow Public Library
(516) 794-2570 x 237

PR/Marketing Kaysha Watson-Phillips
Freeport Memorial Library
(516) 379-3274

Kelly Rechsteiner
North Merrick Public Library
(516) 378-7474

Jody Ruggiero
Malverne Public Library
(516) 599-0750


Top of Page



2013 Calendar of Dates for Young Adult Librarians

Please check the NCLA Calendar for upcoming events.


YASD Award for Excellence in Programming

YASD invites all Young Adult librarians to share
their most exciting and innovative teen program.

Description of the Award
This annual award will be given to a Young Adult librarian
for the best teen program of the previous year.

Applicants, who must be members of NCLA/YASD,
are encouraged to complete and submit an application
with the appropriate documentation.
The winner will be selected by
a panel of judges and be recognized at the YASD annual June meeting.

YA librarians who are current members of NCLA/YASD.
Librarians serving as judges may not apply for the award
while they are on the selection committee

The 2013 YASD Award for Excellence in Programming was
awarded to Lori Gerbasi, Port Washington Public Library, for her
Program, The TeenSpace Hunger Games Party District 12.0.

Top of Page


Young Adult B.E.S.T. Award

B.E.S.T. Award (Bringing Excellence in Service by Teens) was established to honor significant
contributions by a teenager in library service. Each year, there are two winners:
one from Nassau and one from Suffolk. They are chosen by a committee of members
of the Young Adult Services Divisions of the Nassau and Suffolk Library Associations.
A commemorative plaque and a $150.00 stipend are awarded annually to a teenager in each county.

To qualify for the B.E.S.T. Award, all nominees must:
• Be a Nassau or Suffolk County resident.
• Be a volunteer, employee or other affiliate of any library-related organization.
• Have a library sponsor who submits a recommendation which demonstrates significant library service.
• Be between 13 and 19 years of age.
-- All entries remain the property of their respective YA Division --

Each nominee will receive a certificate of appreiciation and letter of commendation
from the B.E.S.T. Award Committee.

Access and Print the 2014 Sponsorship Form

The 2013 B.E.S.T. Award for Nassau County was awarded to Aisha Cooper, Uniondale Public Library,
at the Long Island Library Conference, May 2, 2013.

Previous B.E.S.T. Award Winners

2013 Aisha Cooper, Uniondale Public Library
2012 Evan Sandgren, Garden City High School Library
2011 Gina Darnaud, Levittown Public Library
2010 David Kane, Rockville Centre
2009 Kaitlin Quinn, East Williston
2008 Natahalie Souffrant, Uniondale
2007 Andrea Crivello, Island Trees
2006 Sharifa Shorter, Uniondale
2005 Melissa Bobe, Rockville Centre
2004 Kriti Kathuria , Shelter Rock
2003 Liora Barzideh, Shelter Rock
2002 Sydney Bertley, Uniondale
2001 Stephanie Elpenrod, Uniondale

Courtney Connolly, Rockville Centre

1999 Chinwe Erike, Uniondale
1998 Harry Oettinger, Oyster Bay
1997 Melissa Ianetta, Levittown
1996 Thomas Schmitt, Mineola
1995 Christina Marie Carbone, Bayville
1994 John Driscoll, Mineola
1993 Marvin and Matthew Mitchell, Long Beach
1992 Valerie Sena
1991 Larry Mergentheimer, East Meadow
1990 Claudine Johnson, Uniondale
1989 Rocco Cassano, East Meadow
1988 Heather Scheiber, Port Washington
1987 Steve Guerra, Freeport

Top of Page


Other News

Top of Page


YASD Constitution and Bylaws

Constitution and Bylaws (.pdf)

Top of Page


This Page Revised 3-4-2014

NCLA Homepage